Return to St Andrews Open home page

Alfred Dunhill Links Championship

Dunhill Links Championship logoThe links golf competition is a 72-hole stroke play Pro-Am golf tournament played over three of the world's most spectacular links courses.

The Old Course in St Andrews, the Championship Course in Carnoustie and Kingsbarns Golf Links in Kingsbarns jointly host this great competition. The courses are all within a 30 minute drive of each other, Kingsbarns lies 6 miles South of St Andrews, while Carnoustie lies 10 miles East of Dundee, itself 10 miles North of St Andrews. Carnoustie is obviously also an Open Championship venue.

The tournament is the successor to the Alfred Dunhill Cup which was played over the Old Course in St Andrews for sixteen years prior to the Dunhill Links Championship. The first championship was won by Paul Lawrie in 2001, who two years previously famously won the Open Championship at Carnoustie. Since then it's been won by Padraig Harrington (2002 & 2006), Lee Westwood (2003), Stephen Gallacher (2004), Colin Montgomerie (2005), Nick Dougherty (2007), Robert Karlsson (2008), Simon Dyson (2009), Martin Kaymer (2010), Michael Hoey (2011), Branden Grace (2012), David Howell (2013), Oliver Wilson (2014), Thorbjørn Olesen (2015) and Tyrrell Hatton (2016).

The championship has featured some of the best golfers in the world including Ernie Els, Steve Elkington, Retief Goosen, Colin Montgomerie, Darren Clarke, Vijay Singh, Nick Price, Thomas Bjorn and Rory McIlroy with some of the best from the worlds of sport and entertainment: Sir Steve Redgrave, Michael Douglas, Kyle MacLachlan, Samuel L Jackson, Ian Botham, Shane Warne, Nasser Hussain, Hugh Grant, Jodie Kidd, Boris Becker, Gary Lineker, Ian Wright, Peter Schmeichal, Zinzan Brooke, Marcus Allen, Johann Cruyff, Bill Murray and Michael Ballack, amongst others.

Any site comments, including technical, please tell us
Home ~ Last updated 13 April, 2017 ~ Site Map