Return to St Andrews Open home page

The Open Championship

Open Championship logoThe Open Championship, also know as the Open or the British Open, is oldest of the four annual major championships ("majors") in the sport of golf. Of the four, it's the only major held in the UK and is administered by the R&A. The other three are held in the USA, namely The Masters, US Open and the PGA Championship.

The annual 72 hole (4 day) event is played on one of nine historic seaside courses in Scotland and England. Recently the rotation has favoured the Old Course in St Andrews, with it being played there every five years - years ending '00 and '05.

As well as the ~£5 million prize money, the following awards are played for: The Golf Champion Trophy (commonly known as the Claret Jug) awarded for the year to the winner with his name engraved on the silver ring towards the base, Gold medal - awarded to the winner, Silver medal - awarded to the highest finishing amateur, Bronze medal - awarded to all other amateurs playing in the final round.

The Old Course has played host to the championship on a regular basis since 1873 when it first moved from its home at original Prestwick. The next Open Championship will likely be held back in St Andrews in 2020.

Open Championship - History

Open Championship - Winners

Open Championship - Open Venues

Any site comments, including technical, please tell us
Home ~ Last updated 13 April, 2017 ~ Site Map